Discover more about the Diocese

The Diocese of Australia was created by Letters Patent in 1836. A decade later the Diocese of Sydney was created. Today, the Diocese of Sydney is home to over 270 parishes.


Elected clergy

Bishops of Australia and Archbishops of Sydney

Assistant Bishops of Sydney

Elected lay people

Chancellors of Sydney

Deputy Chancellors of Sydney

Advocates for Diocese of Sydney


Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians